ARRS Roentgen Fund Grants Resident/Fellow Awards to Four Radiologists

Leesburg, VA, February 27, 2023—The American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) proudly recognizes the following four radiologists, as well as their research, with the 2023 ARRS Resident/Fellow in Radiology Awards:

Elliot T. Varney, MD | University of Mississippi Medical Center

ARRS Resident/Fellow in Radiology Melissa Rosado de Christenson Award

“MR Proton Density Fat Fraction Suitability for Fat Quantification Across the Spectrum of Normal to Severe Steatosis—A Prospective Comparative Analysis of Multiple Noninvasive Tests”


Vincius Alves, MD | Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center            

ARRS Resident/Fellow in Radiology President’s Award

“Prospective Characterization of Intestinal MRI Intravoxel Incoherent Motion in Patients With Newly Diagnosed Small-Bowel Crohn Disease”


Luca Pasquini, MD | Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

ARRS Resident/Fellow in Radiology Executive Council Award

“Lack of Speech Arrest During Cortical Stimulation in Patients With Brain Tumors Associated With Interhemispheric Reorganization of Functional Language Network”


Pallavi Srivastava, MBBS, MPH | University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center              

ARRS Resident/Fellow in Radiology Executive Council Award

“Noninvasive Assessment of White Matter Tissue Microstructure Using Multishell Diffusion MRI in Preclinical and Prodromal Stages of Dementia”  

Financed by The Roentgen Fund®, the ARRS Resident/Fellow in Radiology Awards are available to all ARRS In-Training Members in imaging and allied sciences research to acknowledge their work and present their results during the ARRS Annual Meeting. Awards are based on the competence and promise of the candidate in radiological research, education, or administration and the scientific merit and potential impact of the candidate’s research.

Drs. Varney, Alves, Pasquini, and Srivastava will present their research findings during the 2023 ARRS Annual Meeting at the Hawaii Convention Center in Honolulu.

Elliot T. Varney, MD, is a fourth-year resident in a clinical investigator combined PhD and diagnostic radiology residency program at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson, where he serves as the diagnostic radiology chief resident. Currently on a dedicated research year, Dr. Varney will complete and defend his dissertation, graduating in May with a PhD in biomedical science. His research focus has primarily been investigating modifiable imaging biomarkers of cardiometabolic disease; however, Dr. Varney also has a strong interest in image-guided interventions and cancer imaging.

A research fellow in clinical radiology at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Vinicius Alves, MD, obtained a medical degree from Federal Fluminense University in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in 2021. Dr. Alves then moved to the United States of America for research training. His main research focus is clinical and translational pediatric imaging. Prior research honors include the 2022 Majd-Gilday Young Investigator Award from the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, as well as a Best of 2022, Nuclear Medicine article from ARRS’ own American Journal of Roentgenology (AJR). Dr. Alves intends to pursue a career in academic radiology.

Luca Pasquini, MD, received his medical degree at the University of Florence and completed his radiology residency at La Sapienza University in Rome, Italy. Presently, Dr. Pasquini is completing the four-year pathway for the American Board of Radiology certification at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York City, combining research, neuroradiology, and nuclear medicine training. He is also completing a PhD in neural plasticity at La Sapienza University of Rome. Dr. Pasquini has authored more than 40 publications in peer-reviewed journals, presented abstracts and lectures at over 30 conferences worldwide, and received numerous grants and awards, such as the 2021 Fellow Grant from the Radiological Society of North America Foundation, as well as the 2022 David Yousem Research Fellow Award from the American Society of Neuroradiology. His research activity is currently focused on brain cancer by means of functional and metabolic imaging.

Pallavi Srivastava, MBBS, MPH, is a T32-funded clinician/scientist track first-year radiology resident at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. After completing medical school in India, she received her MPH degree from Stony Brook Medicine, NY. With research interests in health care disparities and brain aging, Dr. Srivastava is utilizing MRI and magnetoencephalography (MEG) to identify imaging-based biomarkers of the earliest stages of dementia in a diverse population. She has presented her work at multiple national and international conferences. Passionate about medical education and mentoring, Dr. Srivastava was recognized for excellence in medical student teaching during her surgery internship. She is actively involved in national neuroradiology societies, has served as a meeting abstract reviewer, and currently holds an appointment as a trainee committee member of the American Society of Functional Neuroradiology.

An application call for the 2024 ARRS Resident/Fellow in Radiology Awards will be announced later this year.

North America’s first radiological society, the American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) remains dedicated to the advancement of medicine through the profession of medical imaging and its allied sciences. An international forum for progress in radiology since the discovery of the x-ray, ARRS maintains its mission of improving health through a community committed to advancing knowledge and skills with the world’s longest continuously published radiology journal—American Journal of Roentgenology—the ARRS Annual Meeting, InPractice magazine, topical symposia, myriad multimedia educational materials, as well as awarding scholarships via The Roentgen Fund®.


Logan K. Young, PIO

44211 Slatestone Court

Leesburg, VA 20176