American Roentgen Ray Society Awards 2020 ARRS Gold Medal to Mauricio Castillo

Leesburg, VA, November 26, 2019—The American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) is pleased to announce that Mauricio Castillo of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill will receive the 2020 ARRS Gold Medal for Distinguished Service to Radiology.

ARRS’ Gold Medal award, the Society’s highest honor, will be presented to Dr. Castillo during the opening ceremony of the 120th ARRS Annual Meeting on Sunday, May 3, 2020 in Chicago, Illinois.

Currently, Mauricio Castillo, MD, FACR is the James H. Scatliff Distinguished Professor of Radiology and Chief of Neuroradiology at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

Dr. Castillo began his academic career in diagnostic radiology at the University of Miami in Florida, followed by a two-year neuroradiology fellowship at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia. In 1990, he moved to the University of Texas Medical School at Houston as Assistant Professor of Radiology.

Two years later, Castillo began his lengthy and illustrious tenure with the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as Chief of Neuroradiology, where he was awarded the James H. Scatliff Distinguished Professorship in October 2015.

Dr. Castillo has received more than 80 honors and awards, including the 1995 ARRS Melvin M. Figley Fellowship in Radiology Journalism, under then American Journal of Roentgenology (AJR) editor Robert Berk, as well as a 1999 ARRS Visiting Scientist at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology and a 2009 ARRS Best Speaker Award.

The author of 30 books and 200 electronic presentations—in addition to more than 170 book chapters, 380 peer-reviewed articles, 410 abstracts, and over 1,200 lectures during his 53 Visiting Professorships—Castillo has served on the editorial boards of 11 journals and as an article reviewer for 27 journals. From 2007–2015, he was Editor in Chief of the American Journal of Neuroradiology, the most important journal in clinical neuroimaging. The first-ever recipient of ACR’s Jackson Education Fellowship and twice selected as his institution’s Radiology Teacher of the Year, Dr. Castillo has trained nearly 180 fellows in neuroradiology throughout his career.

A past ARRS President, Dr. Castillo has served numerous professional societies, including as a founding member of the American Society of Pediatric Neuroradiology and President of the American Society of Neuroradiology, receiving its Gold Medal last year. Presently, he serves as the President of Symposium Neuroradiologicum 2022. A native of Guatemala, he is an Honorary Member of the European and Italian Societies of Neuroradiology and the Spanish, Chinese-Taiwan, Argentinian, Ecuatorian, Pernubucam, and Cearense Societies of Radiology.

Founded in 1900, the American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) is the first and oldest radiological society in North America, dedicated to the advancement of medicine through the profession of radiology and its allied sciences. An international forum for progress in medical imaging since the discovery of the x-ray, ARRS maintains its mission of improving health through a community committed to advancing knowledge and skills with an annual scientific meeting, monthly publication of the peer-reviewed American Journal of Roentgenology (AJR), quarterly issues of InPractice magazine, AJR Live Webinars and Podcasts, topical symposia, print and online educational materials, as well as awarding scholarships via The Roentgen Fund®.

Logan K. Young, Marketing Writer and Editor
44211 Slatestone Court
Leesburg, VA 20176