Reviewer Spotlight

The AJR Reviewer Spotlight recognizes reviewers who recently completed a high-quality review that was helpful to the Editors in rendering a decision for a manuscript. While we are highlighting one reviewer a month in this space, we are indebted to the service of our thousands of reviewers whose time and dedication in reviewing AJR manuscripts are invaluable in ensuring the rigor and impact of the articles that we publish.

September 2022 — Joseph P. Cousins

Dr. Joseph P. Cousins is a neuroradiologist, Professor of Radiology, Vice Chair for Faculty Development, Director of MRI at the University of Missouri, Columbia MO, and Diplomate of the ACR. Since his graduate studies at Johns Hopkins, he has been involved in NMR Spectroscopy and MRI, which continue to influence his research and clinical work. An early advocate of H-1 MRS for clinical applications, he wrote a perspective for Dr. R.N. Berk, AJR 1995 164:6, 1337-1347. A neuroradiologist, he was honored as a 2019 Anne G. Osborn ASNR International Outreach Professor. As Director of MRI at MU, he strives to provide the most current neuroradiology services, including routine MRS, fMRI, DTI, and clinical 7T imaging for the MU physicians and their patients from the 25 neighboring counties.

“As a reviewer for AJR for over two decades, it has provided me a great opportunity to give back and support the great work the AJR provides for our radiology community.”


August 2022 — Priscilla J. Slanetz

Dr. Priscilla J. Slanetz is a breast imaging radiologist, Professor of Radiology, Vice Chair of Academic Affairs, and Associate Residency Program Director in the Radiology Department at Boston University School of Medicine and Boston Medical Center. After completing residency and fellowship at Massachusetts General Hospital, Dr. Slanetz has devoted her career to medical education and evaluating new modalities in breast cancer detection. She currently is President-Elect of Association of University Radiologists (AUR) and Subspecialty Chair of American College of Radiology (ACR) Appropriateness Committee Breast Panels. She is Fellow of ACR, AUR, Society of Breast Imaging, and American Association for Women in Radiology.

“Reviewing for the American Journal of Roentgenology (AJR) is truly a privilege. AJR is one of my “go-to resources” as it informs clinical practice through its up-to-date reviews and insightful articles on emerging advances in the field.”


July 2022 — Javier Villanueva-Meyer

Dr. Javier Villanueva-Meyer is a radiologist and nuclear medicine physician in the Department of Radiology University of Texas Medical Branch. He has clinical and academic interest in nuclear medicine, quantitative PETCT, nuclear cardiology and radiopharmaceutical therapies. Dr Villanueva-Meyer keeps broad general interest in radiology including breast imaging. Dr Villanueva-Meyer has experience in leadership and administration in private practice as in academic radiology. He is an advocate for patient access to novel diagnostic and therapies. In addition to clinical work with residents and fellows, he considers a privilege teaching and mentoring trainees.

“The AJR has high impact quality reviews invaluable for medical education to trainees and for busy radiologists. Reviewing articles keeps me up to date and has taught me about effective communication.”


June 2022 — Sarah Johnson

Dr. Sarah Johnson is a Diagnostic Radiologist in the Abdominal Division of the Joint Department of Medical Imaging in Toronto, Canada, and an Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto. Her primary appointment is at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre; her subspecialty areas of interest and research include gynecologic malignancies, peritoneal malignancies, and lymphoma. Additional focused areas of her practice include obstetrical imaging. Dr. Johnson completed residency at the University of Toronto and a fellowship in Oncologic Imaging at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, and considers it a privilege to have a continued involvement in academic oncologic imaging.

“The AJR has been an important learning resource for me from residency to practice, as I know it has for so many of my colleagues, and I am grateful to have the opportunity to contribute in my own small way to ensuring maximal quality of this journal throughout the years for current and future radiologists.”


May 2022 — Khashayar Farsad

Khashayar Farsad is Vice Chair of the Department of Interventional Radiology and the Josef Rosch Chair of Interventional Radiology Research at the Dotter Interventional Institute, Oregon Health and Science University. Dr. Farsad’s areas of clinical and academic interest include interventional management of portal hypertension, image-guided treatment of solid organ malignancies, and endovascular venous reconstruction. He oversees the research activities of the Department of Interventional Radiology, including clinical trials and translational research programs. Dr. Farsad completed post-graduate training in Diagnostic Radiology and Vascular and Interventional Radiology at Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts General Hospital, and is a Fellow of the Society of Interventional Radiology (FSIR).

“AJR is committed to the publication of high-quality impactful articles in the diverse areas of Radiology. The peer-review process is critical to the maintenance of rigor and high standards to which our research should be applied. Serving as a reviewer has been a privilege and has helped inform my ongoing growth as an academic physician.”


April 2022 — Hui-Seong Teh

Dr. Hui-Seong Teh currently practices at NG Teng Fong General Hospital, Singapore. His practice includes advanced body imaging, breast imaging, and interventional radiology. He has keen interested in dual-energy CT, digital breast tomosynthesis, and tumor ablation. His other interests include big-data analytics and advanced image visualization. He is an advocate of user experience (UX) design. He believes that patient experience is an important metric because of its impact on patient outcomes, and that patient engagement technology can be an important piece of a broader experience strategy that aligns quality, safety, and performance initiatives at all touchpoints across the care continuum.

“It is a privilege and honor to be part of the panel of reviewers for American Journal of Roentgenology (AJR), a world class journal. Always a great joy reviewing the many manuscripts of quality submitted to AJR; a truly valuable learning experience.”


March 2022 — Domen Plut

Dr. Domen Plut is the head of the Department of Pediatric Radiology at the Clinical Radiology Institute, University Medical Centre Ljubljana, Slovenia and an Assistant Professor of Radiology at the Faculty of Medicine, University of Ljubljana. He is a member of the Musculoskeletal Taskforce of the European Society of Paediatric Radiology. His specific focus of research is imaging of patients with hemophilia. His primary work interests include advancements of fetal imaging and radiology in pre-term and neonatal intensive care units. In addition to clinical work and research, he has a passion for teaching and mentoring medical students and radiology residents.

“AJR is one of my favorite journals because it provides quality up-to-date articles on all fields of radiology with a focus on clinical applications. Reviewing for the AJR gave me a better insight on its rigorous review process and made me implement presented novelties into my work with greater confidence. Reviewing for AJR also made me a more critical reader and improved my writing skills as well.”


February 2022 — Nathalie J. Bureau

Nathalie J. Bureau is a Full Professor in the Division of Musculoskeletal Radiology at the Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM). Her research focuses on quantitative imaging of tendon disorders and image-guided interventions. Dr. Bureau completed her medical degree and her radiology residency at the University of Montreal, a fellowship at the University of Virginia, and an M.Sc. in Biomedical Sciences at the University of Montreal. She is a member of the International Skeletal Society, served as Head of the Musculoskeletal Division at CHUM from 2005-2013, and as Chair of the Musculoskeletal Community of Practice board at the AIUM from 2015-2017.

“As a resident, radiologist, teacher, author, and reviewer, AJR has been instrumental in my education and academic career. I encourage my residents and fellows to activate their free subscription to AJR each year!”


January 2022 — Doug Kitchin

Dr. Doug Kitchin is the co-chief of Body Imaging at Madison Radiologists, in Madison, WI. He completed his radiology residency at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology and Body Imaging fellowship at the University of Wisconsin. His primary interests are abdominal imaging and practice improvement.

“AJR is one of my go-to journals for its high-quality and clinically relevant articles. In my busy private practice setting, I often have an AJR review article up for reference while going through a complex case. The combination of excellent primary research studies and comprehensive review articles makes AJR a useful resource in the education of radiologists in all practice settings.”


December 2021 — Stefanie Woodard

Dr. Stefanie Woodard is an Assistant Professor of Radiology at The University of Alabama at Birmingham in the division of breast imaging and intervention. She is also an Assistant Program Director for the Diagnostic Radiology residency program. She completed her radiology residency at Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center where she then completed a fellowship in breast imaging. Her primary interests include advancements in breast MRI and improving medical student and resident education in breast radiology.

“AJR provides both residents and faculty with pertinent updates in each subspecialty. The quality of manuscripts consistently impresses me, and I look forward to each new issue.”


November 2021 — Carlos Zamora

Dr. Carlos Zamora obtained his medical degree from the Universidad de San Carlos in Guatemala and a doctoral degree from Kobe University, Japan. He trained in Diagnostic Radiology and completed a 2-year fellowship in Neuroradiology at the Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, Maryland. Dr. Zamora is currently Associate Professor of Radiology and Division Chief of Neuroradiology at the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill, where he has been for over 6 years. His primary interests are neuro-oncology, skull base pathology, and neuroradiology education.

“The AJR has helped me keep abreast of recent developments in the field and I have also found it to be a great resource for high-quality review articles. In addition, reviewing for the journal has substantially improved my ability to approach the medical literature with a critical eye.”


October 2021 — Lauren Alexander

Dr. Lauren Alexander is a body imaging radiologist at Mayo Clinic in Florida, where she serves as the Associate Dean for the School of Health Sciences and the Associate Program Director for the body imaging fellowship. She completed her diagnostic radiology residency at the University of Florida in Gainesville and her body imaging fellowship at the University of Alabama - Birmingham.

“Reviewing for the AJR keeps me up to date on my subspecialty and helps me critically appraise my study design and improve my writing skills as well. The strong clinical focus makes the journal a popular source for fellows when selecting topics for their journal club presentations.”


September 2021 — Stephen Zink

Dr. Zink lives in upstate New York and practices at St. Peter’s Health Partners in Albany. He completed a fellowship in body imaging at Duke University, where current Chairman, Dr. Erik Paulson encouraged him to become a reviewer for AJR.

“In these times of disruption, it is a pleasure to continue to read the latest manuscripts of dedicated investigators. AJR has been an imaging practice staple, a place to glean the latest in sub-specialty clinical peer-reviewed radiology research, a place to continue discussion with colleagues, and a place to turn to review relevant topics in imaging with trainees.”


August 2021 — Joanna Kee-Sampson

Dr. Joanna Kee-Sampson is an Assistant Professor in the Division of Vascular & Interventional Radiology at University of Florida College of Medicine – Jacksonville (UFCOM-J). She is the Associate Program Director of the Integrated and Independent Interventional Radiology Residencies at UFCOM-J and serves on the Education and Match Committees of the Association of Program Directors in IR. Dr. Kee-Sampson completed her interventional radiology fellowship at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University. Her interests lie in endovascular interventions for stroke and interventional oncology.

“AJR is one of my favorite journals because of its diverse and practical content encompassing many subspecialties of radiology. I have become a better writer and a more critical reader because of my experience reviewing articles for AJR.”


July 2021 — Gurdeep Mann

Dr. Gurdeep Mann is the clinical lead for cardiac imaging and a body radiologist in the Department of Radiology at Sidra Medicine, and assistant professor of clinical radiology at Weill Cornell Medicine in Qatar. He trained in pediatric imaging and congenital cardiac imaging in the UK and undertook his fellowship training in pediatric radiology at the BC Children’s Hospital in Vancouver.

“For the busy radiologist I think the AJR and ARRS are the go-to destinations for high-quality medical education. The format of the journal makes it easy to access important new learning. This is backed-up with impactful concise review articles which are highly popular with our trainees.”


June 2021 — Gayathri Sreedher

Gayathri Sreedher, is a pediatric radiologist at Akron Children’s Hospital and Clinical Assistant Professor of Radiology at North East Ohio Medical University. She is the division director for Radiology Research and Fetal MRI in the Department of Radiology at Akron Children’s Hospital. She previously trained in pediatric radiology, neuroradiology, and pediatric neuroradiology at University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC). She has a special interest in pediatric neuroradiology, pediatric cardiac CT, and fetal MRI. Dr. Sreedher is a reviewer for several journals and enjoys teaching residents, medical students, and allied health professionals.

“I consider AJR to be the premier radiology journal with some of the most valuable and clinically relevant articles. Reviewing for AJR is a rewarding educational experience and has taught me to further critically analyze my own research endeavors.”


May 2021 — Trent Roth

Dr. Trent Roth is the Musculoskeletal Division Chief and Musculoskeletal Imaging Fellowship Program Director at the Indiana University School of Medicine Department of Radiology and Imaging Sciences where he also completed his radiology residency and musculoskeletal imaging fellowship. He particularly enjoys educating and working with trainees at all levels as well as clinical work relating to MRI and CT imaging of orthopedic conditions. He has served as an AJR reviewer since 2011.

“AJR strikes a great balance between innovative academic research that keeps me engaged with what is up-and-coming and practical information that I can use in my daily clinical practice today.”


April 2021 — Courtney C. Moreno

Dr. Courtney C. Moreno graduated magna cum laude from Harvard College with a degree in biology and obtained her medical degree from Columbia University's College of Physicians and Surgeons. Dr. Moreno completed her diagnostic radiology residency and abdominal imaging fellowship at Duke University. Dr. Moreno is currently an Associate Professor in the Department of Radiology and Imaging Sciences at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia. Dr. Moreno's research interests include colorectal cancer screening, CT colonography, and MR imaging of the rectum.

“I enjoy reviewing for AJR as a way to stay up-to-date with the newest research.”


March 2021 — Benoît Mesurolle

Dr. Benoît Mesurolle completed his medical degree at Paris VI University and his radiology residency and fellowship in Paris, France. He previously was Associate Professor of Radiology at the McGill University Health Center in Montreal where he served as head of the breast imaging section from 2004 to 2015. He returned to France to work as a staff radiologist in breast imaging, at Centre République in Clermont Ferrand.

“As a reader, reviewer, and author, AJR has always been a reliable resource in my clinical activity and academic pursuits.”


February 2021 — Allison Grayev

Dr. Allison Grayev is an Associate Professor of Radiology at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, where she serves as the Director of Spine Imaging for the Neuroradiology Section. Dr. Grayev's clinical research concentrates on sequence and protocol development, currently focusing on developing an integrated imaging workflow for patients with back and neck pain. She is active in medical student education as the Phase 1 Director for Radiology, in charge of the creation and implementation of integrated radiology during the preclinical anatomy curriculum. Dr. Grayev serves as an Associate Residency Program Director, focusing on evaluation and assessment.

AJR is a resource that I can recommend to trainees at various levels of education to find information pertinent to their learning. Being a reviewer for AJR has been a rewarding experience, allowing me to grow as a scientific writer and researcher.”


January 2021 — Sonia Gaur

Dr. Sonia Gaur is a radiology resident at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, MI. Prior to residency, she spent a dedicated year working as part of the NCI Molecular Imaging Program at the National Institutes of Health, researching prostate MRI interpretation and standardization, which has driven an early career interest in this field and in academics. Her additional interests include education, delivering high-value radiology care, and optimizing patient safety, for which she is currently involved in several related efforts at her institution.

“During my training, AJR has been a go-to source for high quality information that informs clinical practice! I enjoy reading the diverse selection of original research, and the review articles have largely contributed to my radiology education.”


December 2020 — Naveen K. Gowda

Dr. Naveen K. Gowda is Chief of Radiology at St. Luke’s Hospital, Duluth, MN. He has been an interventional radiologist since 2013. Dr. Gowda completed his nuclear medicine residency at All India Institute of Medical Sciences in India, and his diagnostic radiology residency at the University of Minnesota. He has completed fellowships in interventional radiology and thoracoabdominal radiology at the University of Minnesota. In addition to radiology, Dr. Gowda’s has interests in programming and web development.

“The AJR articles are of very high quality and practical for both academic and private practice radiologists. Reviewing AJR articles helps me convey the challenges and opportunities about the manuscript from a community/private practice radiologist’s perspective.”


November 2020 — Yong Bradley

Dr. Yong Bradley is a Professor of Radiology in the Molecular Imaging section at University of Tennessee Medical Center Knoxville (UTMCK). Dr. Bradley finished his residency at Tripler Army Medical Center and fellowship at Brooke Army Medical Center. He has served as Nuclear Medicine Fellowship program director and Chairman of Radiology at Brooke Army Medical Center. After retiring from the military, Dr. Bradley served as Chief of Molecular Imaging at UTMCK for nearly 10 years. He now works part-time doing what he loves, Molecular Imaging and teaching residents.

“For nearly 30 years, I have relied on AJR to provide me the indispensable information for the best care of patients in all settings, whether academic or private practice. Reading the AJR has always delivered the highest ratio of radiology practice value per time spent in literature.”


October 2020 — Leah Lin

Dr. Leah Muhm Lin is an Assistant Professor in the Cardiothoracic Division of the Department of Radiology at Keck School of Medicine of University of Southern California (USC). She is the Director of the USC Lung Cancer Screening program, Director of the USC Cardiothoracic Imaging and Intervention Fellowship, and the Associate Chief of the Cardiothoracic Radiology Division. Dr. Lin completed her cardiothoracic radiology and intervention fellowship at USC where she developed her academic interests in research and teaching. Her interests include lung cancer and lung cancer screening, she speaks at national conferences, and she has a passion for teaching and mentorship.

“Reviewing articles for AJR has taught me a lot about manuscript writing and keeps me up to date about hot topics in cardiothoracic radiology and other radiology subspecialties. I look forward to each review, and I encourage my trainees to read AJR and become involved in the radiology community.”


September 2020 — Simon Kao

Dr. Simon Kao is a professor of Radiology (Pediatric) at the University of Iowa, College of Medicine, Iowa City, Iowa. He was trained in Hong Kong, United Kingdom, and the USA with specialization in Pediatric Imaging. Dr. Kao has special interest in the use of ultrasound, CT, and MRI in imaging children. He was one of the Four editors of the two-volume Imaging Children. Dr. Kao has been a fellow of the American College of Radiology since 2004. He served on the Editorial Advisory Panel of the AJR in Pediatric Radiology (1998-2005) and has been reviewing manuscripts for AJR since 1996.

AJR has been one of my favorite journals to read since my residency. I have been promoting this journal to all my trainees, residents, and fellows.”


August 2020 — Cristy French

Dr. Cristy French is an Associate Professor in the Division of Musculoskeletal Radiology at Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center. She is the Director of Musculoskeletal Ultrasound as well as the Musculoskeletal Fellowship Director. Dr. French completed her residency at Penn State and fellowship at the University of Wisconsin where she developed her primary academic interest of musculoskeletal ultrasound. She delivers educational lectures in musculoskeletal ultrasound (ARRS, AIUM) and facilitates hands-on instructional sessions at musculoskeletal ultrasound training courses (AIUM, MTMI). She also serves as an officer in the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM) Musculoskeletal Executive Planning Committee.

“I frequently refer my trainees to innovative research studies as well as practical review articles published in AJR. We appreciate the “Journal Club” series for academic pursuits, but I enjoy introducing AJR as an educational tool that can be utilized throughout their academic or private practice radiology career.”


July 2020 — Melissa Davis

Dr. Melissa Davis will soon be joining Emory Radiology as an Assistant Professor. She has focused her professional and academic areas of interests in organizational change and innovation within the healthcare space. As a physician, her core objective is to serve the needs of the patient. To wholly serve the patient requires more than the interaction at the point of care, but rather creating and functioning within a system built to support the patient and providers. This has driven the early focus in her career on operational workflows and improving quality within the inpatient and ambulatory spaces through innovative approaches and new technologies.


June 2020 — David Gruen

Dr. David Gruen is the Chief Medical Officer for Imaging at IBM Watson Health and member of Jefferson Radiology in Connecticut specializing in breast and body imaging, informatics and AI. He has served as the director of major women’s imaging and breast care programs. Dr. Gruen completed his undergraduate and Medical Degrees at Cornell, his radiology residency at New York-Cornell, fellowship at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, and MBA at the University of Massachusetts. He is an ACR fellow, serves on several ACR commissions, is an ACR mammography and stereotactic biopsy and NAPBC program reviewer; and has served on the boards of Komen Connecticut and The Breast Cancer Alliance.

“For as long as I’ve been practicing, AJR has been my go-to source for the most up-to-date, yet relevant, timely, non-esoteric, and practical scientific data that I can use to improve clinical care in a measurable way.”


May 2020 — Lakshmi Ananthakrishnan

Dr. Lakshmi Ananthakrishnan is the Director of Computed Tomography and an Assistant Professor in the Division of Abdominal Imaging at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, Texas. Her main area of interest includes spectral CT technologies, with a focus on clinical implementation and workflow. She is particularly interested in making dual energy and spectral CT accessible and less intimidating to radiologists.

“I enjoy AJR because of its diverse content and high quality scientific and educational manuscripts. I'm a fan of the “Best Practices” articles and the journal's appeal to academic and private practice radiologists alike. The abundance of SACME articles in AJR doesn’t hurt either!”